The 2013-2014 Writers' League of Texas Book Awards Winners 

(For books published in 2013)





The Son by Philipp Meyer

Body and Bread by Nan Cuba
The Miniature Wife by Manuel Gonzales
Three Scenarios in Which Hana Sasaki Grows a Tail by Kelly Luce
Loteria by Mario Alberto Zambrano

Discovery Prize Winner:
Quarry Light, Claudia Smith


Dallas 1963 by Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis

The Searchers: The Making of An American Legend by Glenn Frankel
Thomas Jefferson's Qur' an: Islam and the Founders by Denise A Spellberg
My Bright Abyss by Christian Wiman
Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood & the Prison of Belief by Lawrence Wright

Discovery Prize Winner:
Out of the Rabbit Hole: A Road Map to Freedom from OCD by Sheri Bloom and Suzanne Mouton-Odum, Ph.D.


The Year of No Mistakes by Cristin O'Keefe Aptowicz

Cold Blue Steel by Sarah Cortez
Dawn Flower by Diane Gonzales Bertrand
Beneath The Halo by Celeste Guzman Mendoza
Marvelous Things Overheard by Ange Mlinko
Black by Sarah Webb

Discovery Prize Winner:
The Collected Poems of Eric Muirhead

Middle Grade & Young Adult Books

Feral Nights by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Daylighters by Rachel Caine
Maximilian & the Bingo Rematch by Xavier Garza
The Neptune Project by Polly Holyoke
Scorched by Mari Mancusi

Discovery Prize Winner:
CIA: Operation Golden Llama by Sam Bond

Picture Book

Army Camels by Doris Fisher

Magnificent Sam: The Amazing Adventures of Sam Houston by Laurie Cockerell
Prairie Chicken Little by Jackie Mims Hopkins
Lupita’s First Dance by Lupe Ruiz-Flores

Discovery Prize Winner:
World on a String by Larry Phifer