The 2015 Writers' League of Texas Book Awards
Winners, Finalists, and Discovery Prize Winners

(For books published in 2015)



Migratory Animals by Mary Helen Specht

See How Small by Scott Blackwood
Barefoot Dogs by Antonio Ruiz-Camacho
The Burned Bridges of Ward, Nebraska by Eileen Curtright
Eight Minutes by Lori Reisenbichler

Discovery Prize Winner:
Rules for Werewolves by Kirk Lynn



The Outskirts of Hope: A Memoir of the 1960s Deep South by Jo Ivester

A Field Philosopher's Guide to Fracking: How One Texas Town Stood Up to Big Oil and Gas by Adam Briggle
Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget by Sarah Hepola
The Burma Spring: Aung San Suu Kyi and the New Struggle for the Soul of a Nation by Rena Pederson
The Train to Crystal City: FDR's Secret Prisoner Exchange Program and America's Only Family Internment Camp During World War II by Jan Jarboe Russell
Joe, the Slave Who Became an Alamo Legend by Ron J. Jackson, Jr. and Lee Spencer White

Discovery Prize Winner: 
Uncovered: How I Left Hasidic Life and Finally Came Home by Leah Lax


Picture Books:

Poet: The Remarkable Story of George Moses Horton by Don Tate

Counting Crows by Kathi Appelt
The Amazing Age of John Roy Lynch by Chris Barton
In the Canyon by Liz Garton Scanlon
What This Story Needs is a Pig in a Wig by Emma J. Virjan

Discovery Prize Winner:
A Penguin Named Patience by Suzanne Lewis


Middle Grade/Young Adult:

The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

House Arrest by K.A. Holt
Randoms by David Liss
Wish Girl by Nikki Loftin
Kissing in America by Margo Rabb
Utopia, Iowa by Brian Yansky

Discovery Prize Winner:
Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez



Our House Was on Fire by Laura Van Prooyen

One Blackbird at a Time by Wendy Barker
Requiem for Used Ignition Cap by J. Scott Brownlee
Salt Moon by Noel Crook
As If Light Actually Matters by Larry D. Thomas

Discovery Prize Winner:
Rant. Chant. Chisme. by Amalia Ortiz