The 2019 Writers' League of Texas Book Awards
Winners, Finalists, and Discovery Prize Winners

(For books published in 2019)




The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott


Where We Come From by Oscar Cásares

A Particular Kind of Black Man by Tope Folarin

Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke

The Electric Hotel by Dominic Smith

Lot: Stories by Bryan Washington

Discovery Prize Winner: 

Watershed by Mark Barr



Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion by Jia Tolentino


Big Wonderful Thing: A History of Texas by Stephen Harrigan

How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir by Saeed Jones

Sontag: Her Life and Work by Benjamin Moser

The Weil Conjectures: On Math and the Pursuit of the Unknown by Karen Olsson

Discovery Prize Winner: 

This Is My Body: A Memoir of Religious and Romantic Obsession by Cameron Dezen Hammon 



The Tiny Journalist: Poems by Naomi Shihab Nye


The Last Visit by Chad Abushanab

I Will Destroy You: Poems by Nick Flynn

Another Last Day by Alex Lemon

Newsworthy: Poems by Deborah D.E.E.P. Mouton

Discovery Prize Winner: 

Ceremony of Sand: Poems by Rodney Gomez

Middle Grade/Young Adult 


Redwood and Ponytail by K.A. Holt


The Other Half of Happy by Rebecca Balcárcel

Her Own Two Feet: A Rwandan Girl's Brave Fight to Walk by Meredith Davis and Rebeka Uwitonze

Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly

Discovery Prize Winners: 

Eloia Born by Britta Jensen

Manufactured Witches by Michelle Rene

Picture Book 


Ella McKeen, Kickball Queen by Beth Mills


Chicken Break! A Counting Book by Cate Berry

King of the Tightrope: When the Great Blondin Ruled Niagara by Donna Janell Bowman

Instructions Not Included: How a Team of Women Coded the Future by Tami Lewis Brown and Debbie Loren Dunn

A Voice for the Spirit Bears: How One Boy Inspired Millions to Save a Rare Animal by Carmen Oliver