Bess Whitehead Scott Journalism Scholarship


See 2015 winners!

Next application deadline: February 5, 2016  - See Guidelines and Application Form.

The Bess Whitehead Scott Journalism Scholarship
was established in 1991 to honor Bess Whitehead Scott, a pioneer Texas journalist and writer who died in 1997 at age 107. She had a long career as a newspaper reporter and editor, publicist, teacher, ad agency manager and magazine writer. The $1,500 award is granted annually to a junior or senior university student pursuing a degree in journalism or a related field.
Eligibility Requirements

1. Must be currently enrolled at one of the following universities: a) Baylor University b) Sam Houston State University c) Texas A & M University d) Texas State University e) University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, f) University of North Texas
2. Must be a Junior or Senior in the Fall Semester of the same calendar year as the application deadline.
3. Must be pursuing study toward a degree in journalism or a related field
4. Must demonstrate financial need

Fields of Study

Journalism/Mass Communication/Radio-Television-Film or similar designation
Use of Scholarship

Money will be paid directly to the university for credit to the student account of the winner.

Application Form MUST be downloaded and printed, and the completed application form and attachments must be postmarked no later than the first Friday in February to be considered for funding beginning with the Fall semester of that calendar year.

Address for Applications

Applications must be sent to:
Austin Community Foundation
ATTN: BWS Journalism Scholarship
4315 Guadalupe, Suite 300
Austin, Texas 78751

Deadline is February 5, 2016

For more information about the scholarships, contact Jorjanna Price at or 512.444.4950.

All applicants will be notified.