Scholarship Winners

2013 Scholarships

Observing 22 years of helping students achieve educational goals, the Bess Whitehead Scott Scholarship Fund awarded $3,500 in scholarships in the spring of 2013.

The recipients included a journalism major at Texas State University and two writers 40 or older.

Since 1991, the BWS Fund has issued 46 scholarship awards for a total of $50,500 in financial assistance.

The scholarships were founded in 1991 to honor Bess Whitehead Scott, a pioneering journalist who in 1915 landed a reporting job at the Houston Post for $6 a week. Her decades-long career in reporting, teaching, and public relations culminated in 1994 when she was elected to the Texas Women's Hall of Fame at age 104.

Scott Scribes Scholarships for Ages 40 and Older

Kathleen Floyd - Midwestern State University     

Floyd, 50, was tapped for the Scott Scribes Scholarship for Ages 40 and Older ($1,500). She works at Midwestern State University and is a freelance writer. Floyd was 39 when she became a college graduate (from Midwestern State). She has written for several Texas newspapers and the U.S. Postal Service headquarters. Floyd plans to use her scholarship to earn a certificate of narrative journalism at the University of North Texas.


Journalism Scholarships

Lindsay Medina - Texas State University in San Marcos

Medina, who is from San Antonio, received the Bess Scott Journalism Scholarship ($1,500). She says she has known since age 16 she wanted to become a journalist. At Texas State, she has been a news reporter for the University Star campus paper. The 20-year-old says she plans to earn a second degree in communications design. Medina expects to graduate in 2014.


2012 Scholarships

Zahra Farah — Texas State University in San Marcos
LaJuana Hale — University of North Texas in Denton


2011 Scholarships

Nick Dean - Baylor University, Waco
Caitlin Giddens - Baylor University, Waco
Elizabeth Langton - University of North Texas, Denton
Kellie Salome - St. Edward's University, Austin

2010 Scholarships

Catharine Lynn Hirst - Baylor University
Pennie Freeland Boyett - University of North Texas

2009 Scholarships

Erika Pedroza - Baylor University
Philip Perez - Del Mar College

2008 Scholarships

Jackie Baylon - Texas State University-San Marcos
Alex Hering - Texas State University-San Marcos
Margaret Anderegg - University of Texas of the Permian Basin