Freelance Editors, Proofreaders, Ghostwriters, & Mentors

 

Below you'll find a list of freelance editors, proofreaders, ghostwriters, and mentors. We're happy to provide this resource, but please keep in mind that this is by no means intended to be a comprehensive list. We suggest doing some research on your own as you search for the right fit. If you're an editor who would like to be added to this list, please contact us at wlt@writersleague.org with "Resources / Freelance" in the subject line and we'll be in touch.

 

Steve Adams - Award-winning writer works with accomplished authors as well as newcomers, specializing in coaching/mentoring and developmental editing.

Email: stadams5@gmail.com

 

A New Look On Books - A New Look On Books offers developmental editing services to assist writers in getting their manuscripts ready for querying or self-publication.

Email: rae.anewlookonbooks@gmail.com

 

The Austin Creativity Coach -- Helping writers and visual artists overcome distractions, resistance, and procrastination, in order to meet their creative, business, and personal goals. To set up a phone, in-person, or email session and inquire about pricing, contact Gina P. Woodruff.

Email: gina@theaustincreativitycoach.com

 

Suzanne Batchelor - Editing nonfiction (health, how-to, memoir) and fiction (novel, drama, short story); no charge for initial view and discussion.

Email: sbatchelor@gmail.com

 

Kelly Besecke - I offer copyediting and developmental editing of nonfiction manuscripts.

Email: kelly@bookmarkediting.com


Blue Dragon Consulting - An Austin-based creative services firm specializing in manuscript editing and coaching. Contact: Diana Ceres.

Email: diana@bluedragonconsulting.com


Cider Spoon Stories - Ghostwriting and book editing service catering to seniors, veterans, and small business owners, or anyone with a story! Contact: Jessica Hagemann.

Email: ciderspoon@gmail.com   

 

Cynthia DiTiberio - After nine years at HarperCollins Publishers, and five years free lance, Cindy is your go-to expert for ghostwriting and collaboration, developmental editing, and proposal creation.

Email: cdt.editorial@yahoo.com  


Pat Dunlop Evans - Pat Dunlap Evans provides developmental editing services that will help you move readers to tears, laughter, nail biting or sighs. Pat has a B.A. and an M.A. in English/Creative Writing, 25 years' professional writing experience, and two novels published to date.

Email: AustinWriterGirl@Yahoo.com


Editor Amy - A Houstonian, I offer copyediting, developmental editing, proofreading, and writing services, as well as manuscript evaluations. I specialize in editing fiction and technical materials, and I offer new-client discounts. I love to help writers meet and exceed their goals! Contact: Amy Megill.

Email: amy@editoramy.com

 

ErinEdits - Editorial services for fiction and non-fiction manuscripts by a former NYC editor. Contact: Erin Brown.

Email: erin@erinedits.com


Final Edition - Copyediting for fiction and nonfiction and developmental editing for fiction. Contact: Elizabeth Nunes.

Email: elizabethenunes11@gmail.com


 

Fox Book Editing- Copy editing and proofreading services from an Austin based editor. Contact: Nicole Fox.

Email: nicolefoxhastings@gmail.com

 

Frank Kavanaugh - I've worked as a teacher, tutor, and writer for 40-plus years--and still do.

Email: cfkavanaugh@sbcglobal.net

 

Gino Verna Studios - Book and cover design.


Email: Gino@ginoverna.com

 

G. Paris Johnson, MA - I offer editing, proofreading, content writing, technical writing, and copyediting, copywriting, ghostwriting--to name a few.

Email: g.johnson1184@gmail.com

 

Ann Kellett Editing - Ann has 30+ years of full-time, award-winning editing experience, with happy clients around the world.

Email: akellett@mac.com

 

Susan Luton - Susan has 18 years of professional experience in substantive/content editing, copyediting, and proofreading. She has edited novels, nonfiction trade books, short stories, essays, and articles.

Email: susan@susanlutonediting.com


Christopher Murray
- I offer comprehensive editing and print/e-book design.

Email: murray-literary@outlook.com

 

Helen Novielli - Precise and efficient proofreading and editing services for authors, students, businesses, and more.

Email: helen@personalproofreading.com

 

Stephanie Noll - Austin-based writing coach for novels, memoirs, and essays, with experience helping writers plan out and finish their first draft.

Email: stephanieleenoll@gmail.com

 

Anne Pottinger - 30+years experience. I offer copy editing, line editing and proofreading. Fiction and non-fiction.All editing is carried out using Microsoft Word Track Changes and Comment Boxes. Click my name to visit my website.

Email: anne@annexperteditor.com



Barbra Rodriguez (Vital Wordplay) -
Barbra has covered life science, engineering, sustainability and health topics for 21 years, and has edited for a decade plus. She copyedits and proofreads for publishers, self-published authors, and university research units.

Email: barbra@vitalwordplay.com

Eva Silverfine - Over 25 years experience as a copy editor of nonfiction and fiction.

Email: texott@gvtc.com

 

Sarah M. Weber - Austin-based editor of fiction and nonfiction.

Email: sarahmweber715@gmail.com

 

Martha Wood - Ghostwriting, ghost blogging, web content, editing and proofreading.

Email: marthawood.net@gmail.com

 

Writer's Workshop - A full service editing and coaching practice, including development edits, copyediting, synopsis evaluations, Finishing School and query letter consults.

Email: ron@workshopwriter.com 

 

Yellow Bird Editors - We are an Austin-based collective of professional freelance editors and writing coaches. Our services include manuscript critiques, developmental editing, content editing, copyediting, proofreading, query letter editing, monthly writing coaching, and more.

Email: info@yellowbirdeditors.com