Back to Calendar

Kate Winkler Dawson Signing at BookPeople

Add to my calendar


Location
BookPeople, 2nd Floor
603 N Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78703

10/28/2017 From 6 pm to 8 pm


 

Kate Winkler Dawson is one of WLT's success stories. She met her agent at our Agents & Editors Conference and is an active member of our writing community. At her BookPeople event, she'll be in conversation with WLT Executive Director Becka Oliver about her new book Death in the Air.

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing.

In winter 1952, London automobiles and thousands of coal-burning hearths belched particulate matter into the air. But the smog that descended on December 5th of 1952 was different; it was a type that held the city hostage for five long days. Mass transit ground to a halt, criminals roamed the streets, and 12,000 people died. That same month, there was another killer at large in London: John Reginald Christie, who murdered at least seven women. In a braided narrative that draws on extensive interviews, never-before-published material, and archival research, Dawson captivatingly recounts the intersecting stories of the these two killers and their longstanding impact on modern history.

We hope you can join us us! Share the event with your friends on Facebook.